Retour
Thierry Ferland
Supervisor, Marine Work and Floating Equipment, Port of Montreal
Thierry-Ferland

Was getting into the industry your first career choice? If so, how did you get interested in transportation? If not, what attracted you to this sector?

Yes, the marine industry was my first choice. Since childhood I’ve been attracted to ships and all the logistics involved. After meeting people in the industry, my curiosity turned into a passion. I earned a DCS in navigation at the Institut maritime du Québec and then became more interested in operations management, so I decided to do a BA in Operations Management at UQAM.

What or who surprises you in your occupation, in the sense that you didn’t expect to see these aspects (technology, culture, atmosphere, challenges, etc.) in the industry?

In my job and everything related to it, what surprised me was the multitude of challenges to be met. Among other things, from a human point of view, by working with people of other generations whose work techniques are different from mine and by collaborating with various departments that don’t have the same work conventions.

If you had to give advice to the next generation, what would you tell them to encourage them to choose the logistics and freight transport sector?

The field of logistics and transportation is really widespread. I recommend that the next generation really look into all the career opportunities in this field that might interest them. Most of all, think about where they see themselves in the coming years.

How do you see the future of your profession and the sector?

As an operations manager, the future is bright. Companies need people who are able to take on the challenges of this profession. In addition, the transportation and logistics sector will always remain important, because any equipment or objects produced must be transported for consumption.

Cargo
CargoM
Port of Montreal Building
2100 Pierre-Dupuy Avenue
Wing 2, Suite 2100
Montréal (Québec) H3C 3R5
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER
Your email has been successfully added to our list.

Retour
Thierry Ferland
Surveillant, travaux maritimes et équipement flottant, Port de Montréal
Thierry-Ferland

Était ce ton premier choix de carrière de venir dans l'industrie ? Si oui, comment as-tu eu la piqûre pour le transport ? Si non, qu'est ce qui t'a attiré dans le secteur ?

Oui, l’industrie maritime était mon premier choix. Depuis mon enfance, j’ai été attiré par les navires et toute la logistique qui les entourait. À la suite de rencontres avec des personnes de l’industrie, ma curiosité s’est transformée en passion. J’ai fait un DEC en navigation à l’Institut maritime du Québec et par la suite, je me suis plus intéressé à la gestion des opérations. J’ai alors pris la décision de faire un BAC en gestion des opérations à l’UQAM.

Qu'est-ce qui t'a ou qui te surprend dans ton métier, dans le sens où tu ne t'attendais pas à voir ces aspects (technologie, culture, ambiance, défis...) dans l'industrie ?

Dans mon métier et dans tout ce qui s’y rattache, ce qui m’a surpris, c’est la multitude des défis à réaliser. Entre autres, d’un point de vue humain, en travaillant avec des personnes d’autres générations et qui ont leurs techniques de travail différentes des miennes et en collaborant avec différents départements qui n’ont pas les mêmes conventions de travail.

Si tu devais donner un conseil à la relève, que leur dirais-tu pour les encourager à choisir leur secteur de la logistique et du transport des marchandises ?

Le domaine de la logistique et du transport est très vaste. Je recommande à la relève de bien se renseigner sur toutes les opportunités de carrière dans ce domaine qui pourraient les intéresser. Surtout réfléchir à où ils se verraient dans les prochaines années.

Comment envisages-tu le futur de ta profession et du secteur ?

En tant que gestionnaire des opérations, le futur est prometteur. Les entreprises ont besoin de personnes qui sont capables de faire face aux défis que représente cette profession. De plus, le secteur du transport et de la logistique va toujours demeurer important, car tout équipement ou objet produit doit être acheminé pour être consommé.

Cargo
CargoM
Édifice du Port de Montréal
2100, av. Pierre-Dupuy
Aile 2, Bureau 2100
Montréal (Québec) H3C 3R5
INSCRIVEZ-VOUS À NOTRE INFOLETTRE
Votre courriel a été ajouté à notre liste avec succès.